CI Section

Cambridge International Examinations is the world’s largest provider of international education programmes and qualifications for 5–19 year olds. Over than 9000 schools in 160 countries are part of the Cambridge learning community. The exams are well recognised by universities, education providers and employers across the world. They are part of the Cambridge Assessment Group, a not-for-profit organisation and a department of the University of Cambridge.

Cambridge supports schools to develop learners who are confident in working with information and ideas – their own and those of others; responsible for themselves, responsive to and respectful of others; innovative and equipped for new and future challenges and engaged intellectually and socially, ready to make a difference.

CI programmes and qualifications at The Daly College lead seamlessly from grade VII to grade XII. It provides globally recognised qualifications including Cambridge IGCSE and Cambridge International AS and A Level that opens doors for learners

Various levels of learning

CHECKPOINT - Grades 7 & 8
IGCSE - Grades 9 and 10
AS/A Levels - Grades 11 and12


2.1 Cambridge Checkpoint :- Check point tests are for use at the end of Cambridge Secondary 1. It offers a curriculum framework for learners who are typically 11-14 years old and incorporates internationally benchmarked tests. They are marked by CI and provide schools with an external international benchmark for student performance. Cambridge Checkpoint enables valuable feedback on a learner's strengths and weaknesses in key curriculum areas. Learners receive a Statement of Achievement which gives an indication of their academic progress during this education stage.


2.2 The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) – IGCSE is a globally recognised qualification. It is taken in Grade 10, similar to the Grade 10 examinations of the CBSE and ICSE in India . It is part of the Cambridge Secondary 2 stage.

IGCSE is a comprehensive two-year programme spread over grades 9 and 10 and leads to the final examinations offered every year in May and November.

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education is an international curriculum which is designed to encourage high academic standards through a practical approach to teaching and learning. The programme is administered by the University of Cambridge International Examinations Board and is recognised by various national systems around the world. A student who has passed IGCSE is eligible for any +2 level qualifications.


2.3 IGCSE Curriculum - The IGCSE two-year subject syllabi are based upon modern educational practices which are learner-centred in approach and cater to a wide range of abilities. They focus on the development of skills rather than simply mastering content. It develops learners’ skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving, giving learners excellent preparation for the next stage in their education.


Cambridge IGCSE develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in:

Subject content
Applying knowledge and understanding to familiar and new situations
Intellectual enquiry
Flexibility and responsiveness to change
Working and communicating in English
Influencing outcomes
Cultural awareness


Over 70 available subjects offering a variety of routes for learners of different abilities, the top ten Cambridge IGCSE subjects (as below) worldwide are :

Mathematics (Without Coursework)
English as a Second Language
First Language English
Business Studies
Information and Communication Technology


Most subjects offer a choice between core curriculum and extended curriculum. The core curriculum is an overview of the subject and is suitable for students who are expected to achieve grades C to G. The extended curriculum is sort of specialisation in that subject. It is more challenging and designed for students who are expected to achieve grades A* to C.


2.4 Assessment pattern - IGCSE offers a wider range of subjects and encourages high academic standards. Assessment consists of a variety of oral and listening tests in addition to conventional written papers.

The assessment of each learner’s performance is benchmarked using eight internationally recognised grades point scale. The scale ranges from A * to G, with A * being the highest.


2.5 Recognition - The IGCSE programme has worldwide status and credibility. In India it is recognised by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU) as being at par with CBSE, ICSE, etc. and is delivered in over 600 schools.

Two subjects at A Level with 5 full credits are accepted as equivalent to a 12 years secondary stage qualification.


Cambridge International AS and A Levels are internationally benchmarked qualifications providing excellent preparation for university education and valued by universities and employers alike. They are part of the Cambridge Advanced stage. They are taken in over 125 countries and offer a choice of 60 different subjects. Some US universities give up to a year's credit as a result. Every year, thousands of Cambridge International ‘A’ Level students gain places at good universities worldwide - including the UK, USA, Canada, New Zealand and Australia.

Schools and learners find Cambridge International AS and A Levels very flexible. Learners have the freedom to select the subjects that are right for them - they either follow a broad course of study, or specialise in a particular area.

Cambridge International AS and A Levels use a wide range of assessment processes and techniques to supplement formal written examinations - orals, practicals, projects and coursework of differing types are all used in various subjects where they are the most effective and appropriate means of measuring attainment.

** Some subjects are only available in June or November. Cambridge International AS and A Level examination sessions occur twice a year*, in June and November, with results issued in August and January respectively.

It is offered in Grade VI.
The eligibility criterion is securing 70% in English in Half Yearly exam in the month of November of grade VI.
In case of more than 30 applicants, the selection will be on the basis of merit.
Selected students then move to Grade VII (CI) in November-December.


For more information, please visit


  Notice Board
CI: Time Table and Syllabus for Annual Examination 2021 (7,8 and 9)
CI: Time Table IGCSE , As and A level Feb March 2021
CI: Unit Test 2 (Class 9 CI)
CI: Unit Test 2 Syllabus(Classes 7 to 9 CI)